Aristotelian Biology and Christian Theology in the Early Empire

aristotleian biololgy

Aristotelian Biology and Christian Theology in the Early Empire

Faculty of Philosophy, Oxford

11th-12th January 2019


This conference will explore the conceptual interplay between Aristotelian science and Christianity theology during the 1st century A.D., with a special interest in the following questions among others:

  • How did Aristotelian philosophy influence the theology of the early Christian church, and how did the latter’s theological precepts reinterpret the conceptual framework of the former?
  • In what respect is Aristotle’s hylomorphic analysis of the natural world aligned with the theological debate on the relation between the body and the soul?
  • Did Aristotelian science inform or in some way impact the church’s position on the process of generation and bodily “ensoulment”, the role of the spiritual in the material world, and the question of immortality?


Confirmed Speakers

Sophia Connell (Birkbeck, University of London, UK)

Samuel Fernandez (University of Santiago, Chile)

Dawn LaValle Norman (Australian Catholic University)

Anne Siebels Peterson (University of Utah, USA) 

Marco Zambon (University of Padova, Italy)

Teun Tieleman (Utrecht University)



Lecture Room, Faculty of Philosophy, University of Oxford, OX2 6GG



Though the conference is open to all who wish to attend, registration is obligatory and free of charge. Please contact:

Financial support is available for postgraduate students who wish to attend (50% of accommodation costs on a “first come, first served basis”), thanks to the support of the Analysis Trust and the Hellenic Society. Any student currently enrolled for a taught or research postgraduate course related to the ancient Greek or Roman world at any university in the UK is also eligible to apply for a travel grant from The Thomas Wiedemann Memorial Fund (online, at least one month in advance of travel): see for more details.

We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of The British Society for the History of Philosophy, The Analysis Trust, and the Hellenic Society. 

Christopher J. Austin, Vito Limone, Anna Marmodoro