Classics > Faculty of Classics People

Academic Staff A-C

A-C  D-G  H-L  M-P  Q-S  T-Z 
(**= Emeriti, *= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors

** Dr James N. Adams
All Souls College
james.adams@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Latin Language and Philology

Dr Bill Allan
University College
Tel No: (01865) 276644
william.allan@univ.ox.ac.uk
Archaic and classical Greek literature, especially tragedy and epic

Dr Rebecca Armstrong
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276855
rebecca.armstrong@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Latin poetry, especially Vergil, Ovid and Catullus

Dr Rhiannon Ash
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 286302
rhiannon.ash@classics.ox.ac.uk
Tacitus, Roman Historiography, Editor of Classical Quarterly

Dr Richard Ashdowne
University College
richard.ashdowne@classics.ox.ac.uk
Historical Linguistics, Comparative Philology, History of Latin and Romance Languages, Forms of Address

Dr Carol Atack
St Hugh's College
carol.atack@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Political thought, Xenophon, Aristotle, historiography, reception

Dr Lucy Audley-Miller
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
lucy.audley-miller@some.ox.ac.uk
Junior Research Fellow Funerary Portraiture, Roman Art and Architecture

Dr Pavlos Avlamis
Trinity College
pavlos.avlamis@classics.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic and Imperial Greek literature and culture

Dr Jean-Sébastien Balzat
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 288266
jean-sebastien.balzat@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman history, Greek epigraphy, Greek onomastics

Dr Peter Barber
Wolfson College
peter.barber@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Indo-European Philology; History of the Greek Language

Dr Marina Bazzani
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610222
marina.bazzani@classics.ox.ac.uk
Reception of greek language and classical tradition in byzantium; byzantine learned poetry

Dr Amin Benaissa
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274299
amin.benaissa@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek literary and documentary papyrology; Archaic, Hellenistic and Imperial-period Greek poetry; social, cultural and institutional history of Graeco-Roman Egypt

Dr Lisa Bendall
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278244
lisa.bendall@arch.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Prehistory; Linear B and other Bronze Age Aegean Scripts; anthropological approaches to Mycenaean religion, festivals and banqueting; archives, ancient and modern; history of decipherment; economic history.

Dr Edward Bispham
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277524
ed.bispham@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Pre-Roman and Roman Italy (history, epigraphy, archaeology); Roman historiography

** Prof. Sir John Boardman
Classical Art Research Centre
john.boardman@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology & Art

** Prof. Ewen L. Bowie
Corpus Christi College
ewen.bowie@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek Elegiac and Iambic Poetry, Hellenistic Poetry, Greek Literary Culture of the Roman empire, especially the Greek Novels and Poetry

Dr Angus M. Bowie
The Queen's College
Tel No: (01865) 279172
angus.bowie@queens.ox.ac.uk
Literary Theory, Homer, Herodotus, Greece and Persia, Comedy, Greek Anthropology, Virgil

Prof. Alan K. Bowman
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277821
alan.bowman@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman History and Papyrology

** Mrs Lesley Brown
Somerville College
lesley.brown@some.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato, Aristotle

** Mr Peter G. McC. Brown
Trinity College
peter.brown@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Latin Poetry, Greek and Roman Comedy

Dr Felix Budelmann
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276069
felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature, lyric, cognitive approaches to literature

** Dr Penelope Bulloch
Balliol College
penelope.bulloch@balliol.ox.ac.uk
Aristophanes, New and Roman Comedy

** Prof. Myles Burnyeat
All Souls College
Ancient Philosophy

Prof. Dame Averil Cameron
Keble College
averil.cameron@keble.ox.ac.uk
Literature and history of the Late Antique and Early Byzantine Periods

Dr Virginia Campbell
The Gibson Building
virginia.campbell@classics.ox.ac.uk

Mr Ben Cartlidge
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
benjamin.cartlidge@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Menander, Greek drama, Indo-European linguistics, Sabellian languages, the history of the Greek language, Greek literature, language pedagogy

Mr Richard Catling
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 288395
richard.catling@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek History and Archaeology

** Dr G.L. Cawkwell
University College
georgecawkwell@clara.co.uk
Greek History 700-300

Dr Edouard Chiricat
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 288392
edouard.chiricat@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, epigraphy

Dr Anna Clark
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276228
anna.clark@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman society and history, esp. 3rd cent BCE -1st/ 2nd CE; Roman intellectual and cultural history; historiography; religion; epistolography; Roman comedy; city of Rome.

Dr Katherine Clarke
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276856
katherine.clarke@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman historiography (especially Herodotus and Tacitus), ancient geographical traditions (especially in the late Hellenistic period), concepts of time, local and universal history.

Dr Nicholas Cole
Pembroke College
nicholas.cole@history.ox.ac.uk
History of Political Thought, Classical Reception, American History, Cicero.

** Prof. Chris Collard
The Queen's College
chris.collard@classics.ox.ac.uk
Euripides, History of Classical Scholarship.

Dr Daniela Colomo
The Sackler Library
daniela.colomo@classics.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer, Oxyrhynchus project, papyrology, Greek Literature, Magic in Antiquity, Textual Criticism of the Bible

Dr Ursula Coope
Corpus Christi College
ursula.coope@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Philosophy

Dr Hannah E. Cornwell
Trinity College
hannah.cronwell@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Roman Republican and early Imperial history, Latin epigraphy and numismatics, Roman archaeology and art.

Dr Roger S. Crisp
St Anne's College
Tel No: (01865) 274819
roger.crisp@st-annes.ox.ac.uk
Moral Philosophy Political Philosophy Ancient Philosophy

Dr Charles V. Crowther
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288180
charles.crowther@classics.ox.ac.uk
Epigraphy

Dr Bruno Currie
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276510
bruno.currie@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek epic (especially Homer and Hesiod), Greek lyric (especially Pindar), Greek religion