Faculty Members M-P

A-C  D-G  H-L  M-P  Q-S  T-Z 
(** = Emeriti, * = Permanent Professors & Associate Professors)

Prof. Fiona Macintosh
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288268
fiona.macintosh@classics.ox.ac.uk
Performance of Greek and Roman Drama, Reception of Greek and Roman literature

Dr Christopher Mallan
St Benet's Hall
christopher.mallan@stb.ox.ac.uk
Roman Historiography; Cassius Dio; Roman Imperial History; Dexippus; Reception of Roman History in Byzantium.

** Dr Marlia Mango
Institute of Archaeology
marlia.mango@arch.ox.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Mannack
Classical Art Research Centre
Tel No: (01865) 278086
thomas.mannack@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Greek vase-painting, Iconography

Dr Richard Marshall
St Benet's Hall
richard.marshall@stb.ox.ac.uk
Varro, Ancient Scholarship and Education, Antiquarianism, Roman Social and Cultural History, Palaeography, Textual Transmission

Dr Lydia Matthews
Oriel College
lydia.matthews@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Roman History, Ancient Sexuality and Gender, Ancient Medicine, Ancient Ethnography

Dr Judith S. McKenzie
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610236
judith.mckenzie@arch.ox.ac.uk
Greco-Roman and Late Antique East and Egypt; Alexandria; Petra; Religious continuity and change; Architecture, art, sculpture

Dr Neil McLynn
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276778
neil.mclynn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient History (Late Antiquity)

Prof. Andrew Meadows
New College
andrew.meadows@new.ox.ac.uk
Greek History; Epigraphy; Numismatics

Dr Chiara Meccariello
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
chiara.meccariello@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Literary and Subliterary Papyri; Greek Tragedy; Ancient Scholarship, especially Literary Criticism and Greek Lexicography; Ancient Education; Greek Biography; Women in Antiquity

Dr Milena Melfi
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278079
milena.melfi@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology; Hellenistic and Roman Greece; Sanctuaries; Archaeology and History of Ancient Epirus; cult and cult-places of Asklepios.

Dr Christopher Metcalf
The Queen's College
christopher.metcalf@queens.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek poetry; literatures of ancient Mesopotamia and Anatolia; history of religion

Mr Robin Meyer
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
robin.meyer@ling-phil.ox.ac.uk
historical linguistics, language contact, relative clauses, history of the Greek language, Indo-European linguistics

Dr Laura Miguélez-Cavero
Balliol College
laura.miguelezcavero@classics.ox.ac.uk
Imperial Greek literature and culture

** Sir Fergus G. B. Millar
The Oriental Institute
fergus.millar@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman History, Near Eastern History

Dr Alfonso Moreno
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276014
alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Economic and Social History

Dr Llewelyn Morgan
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277890
llewelyn.morgan@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Latin Literature, Virgil

Prof. Teresa Morgan
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276574
teresa.morgan@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Ancient history, cultural history, ethics, early Church, historiography

Mr James Morwood
Wadham College
james.morwood@classics.ox.ac.uk
Elementary Language Teaching, Drama (esp. Euripides), Virgil, Catullus

** Ms Lucia Nixon
Wolfson College
lucia.nixon@classics.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Archaeology, Survey, Archaeology and Gender

Dr Dirk Obbink
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276212
dirk.obbink@chch.ox.ac.uk
Greek Literature, Papyrology

Prof. Robert C. T. Parker
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279520
robert.parker@new.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Greek Religion, Greek Epigraphy

** Prof. Peter J. Parsons
Christ Church
peter.parsons@classics.ox.ac.uk
Oxyrhynchus Papyri Project

Prof. Christopher B. R. Pelling
Christ Church
chris.pelling@chch.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Literature and Historiography

** Dr John H. W. Penney
Wolfson College
john.penney@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Indo-European Philology, Languages of pre-Roman Italy

Dr Alexia Petsalis-Diomidis
Corpus Christi College
alexia.petsalis-diomidis@ccc.ox.ac.uk
materiality and religion of the Graeco-Roman world, the body, travel and landscape, pilgrimage, the reception of Classical art, especially Greek Vases

Dr Giuseppe Pezzini
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 277631
giuseppe.pezzini@magd.ox.ac.uk
Latin Comedy; Latin Language, Metre, and Textual Criticism; Philology and linguistics; History of Classical Scholarship

Dr Tom Phillips
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 276293
thomas.phillips@merton.ox.ac.uk
Pindar, Greek Lyric poetry, Hellenistic poetry, ancient scholarship.

Dr Luke Pitcher
Somerville College
Tel No: (01865) 270668
luke.pitcher@some.ox.ac.uk
Historiography, Reception

Dr Mark Pobjoy
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276099
mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman History, Latin Epigraphy, Republican Italy

Dr Charlotte Potts
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288265
charlotte.potts@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic Italy; Etruscan archaeology; Roman art and architecture; museum studies

Dr Jonathan R.W. Prag
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 276281
jonathan.prag@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Sicily, Roman Republic, Epigraphy

Prof Philomen Probert
Wolfson College
Tel No: (01865) 270765
philomen.probert@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Greek, Latin, and Anatolian languages and literatures; history of linguistics; Greek and Latin grammarians; Indo-European historical and comparative linguistics; linguistic theory; historical prosody; diachronic syntax.

Dr Enrico Emanuele Prodi
Christ Church
enrico.prodi@chch.ox.ac.uk
Pindar, papyrology, Greek lyric poetry, papyrology, history of the book in antiquity, Hellenistic literary scholarship and its reception, Greek tragedy, archaic Greek elegy.

Prof. Nicholas Purcell
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277818
nicholas.purcell@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman Social, Economic and Cultural History, City of Rome; Mediterranean Sea and its History