Academic Staff H-L

A-C  D-G  H-L  M-P  Q-S  T-Z 
(** = Emeriti, * = Permanent Professors & Associate Professors)

Dr Peter Haarer
Regent's Park College
peter.haarer@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic Greek history and archaeology; Epigraphy; The emergence of alphabetic Greek writing; The development of iron during the Archaic and Classical periods

Dr Helena Hamerow
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278245
helena.hamerow@arch.ox.ac.uk
Northwest Europe in the early Middle Ages; early medieval settlements and pottery

Prof. Stephen J. Harrison
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276762
stephen.harrison@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Augustan Poetry, Ancient Novel, esp. Apuleius, Classical Reception (especially 19C and 20C UK).

** Dr Martin E. Henig
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278265
martin.henig@arch.ox.ac.uk
Roman Art and Archaeology, especially Roman Britain, Glyptics and the minor arts, changes in artistic culture

Dr Volker Heuchert
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278062
volker.heuchert@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman Coinage

Prof. Stephen Heyworth
Wadham College
Tel No: (01865) 277945
stephen.heyworth@wadh.ox.ac.uk
Latin Poetry, Propertius, Ovid, Textual Criticism

Dr Jill Hilditch
Keble College
jillian.hilditch@classics.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Prehistory; Cycladic island archaeology; ceramic analysis; archaeological survey; material culture studies; ancient technologies and craft transmission.

Dr Sarah Hitch
Corpus Christi College
sarah.hitch@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek religion, myth, epic poetry

** Dr Richard Hitchman
Somerville College
richard.hitchman@some.ox.ac.uk
Indo-European comparative philology; Ancient Greek personal names

Dr Arlene Holmes-Henderson
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
arlene.holmes-henderson@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical languages, education, Classical literatures and cultures, literacy, critical skills, rhetoric, democratic education, oracy, citizenship education.

Prof. Simon Hornblower
All Souls College
simon.hornblower@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Classical Greek historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides) and the relationship between historical texts as literature and as history, Pindar, Lykophron's Alexandra

** Dr James Howard-Johnston
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610232
james.howard-johnston@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Institutional development and foreign relations of the East Roman/Byzantine Empire 400-1000, Balkan, Armenian and Steppe nomad history, 400-1000; historiography.

** Mrs M.C. Howatson
St Anne's College

Prof. Chris Howgego
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278063
chris.howgego@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman Coinage

** Dr David R. Howlett
Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources
david.howlett@bodley.ox.ac.uk
Transmission of Hebrew and Greek in the Middle Ages, Insular Latin Literatures 400-1500 A.D.

** Mr Edward L. Hussey
All Souls College
edward.hussey@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Presocratics Sophists Socrates Aristotle

Prof. Gregory O. Hutchinson
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276192
gregory.hutchinson@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Lyric, Greek Tragedy, Hellenistic Poetry, Cicero, Latin Elegy, Silver Latin, Imperial Greek prose, Epistolography, Prose-rhythm, Ancient poetry-books, interaction of Greek and Latin literature.

** Dr Doreen C. Innes
St Hilda's College
doreen.innes@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Literary Criticism , Rhetoric and Cicero

** Mr Michael J. Inwood
Trinity College
Tel No: (01865) 279899
michael.inwood@trinity.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Philosophy, Hegel, 19th century philosophy, Heidegger, Aquinas

Prof. Terence Irwin
Keble College
Tel No: (01865) 272730
terence.irwin@philosophy.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Philosophy, ethics (especially history), Kant

Dr Ine Jacobs
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Late Antique archaeology and architecture, Archaeology of Christianity, Popular culture, Dark Age Asia Minor

** Prof. Elizabeth Jeffreys
Exeter College
elizabeth.jeffreys@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Byzantine and Modern Greek

** Prof. Richard H. A. Jenkyns
Lady Margaret Hall
richard.jenkyns@lmh.ox.ac.uk
Classical influence on English Literature, Virgil, Latin Poetry

Prof. Lindsay Judson
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276209
lindsay.judson@philosophy.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Philosophy

Dr Lisa Kallet
University College
Tel No: (01865) 276656
lisa.kallet@univ.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Historiography and Archaic and classical Athens

Dr Georgy Kantor
St John's College
Tel No: (01865) 610876
georgy.kantor@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Roman law and institutions, Hellenistic and Roman epigraphy, Asia Minor, Black Sea region

Dr Helen Kaufmann
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274308
helen.kaufmann@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman late antiquity, Latin poetry, reception, pedagogy

Dr Emily G. D. Kearns
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276870
emily.kearns@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Greek Tragedy, Religion

Dr Adrian Kelly
Balliol College
Tel No: (01865) 277580
adrian.kelly@balliol.ox.ac.uk
Tradition, traditional referentiality, orality, Homer, Hesiod, Archaic Greek Poetry, Athenian Tragedy

Ms Juliane Kerkhecker
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 286547
juliane.kerkhecker@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Language, Latin Poetry (imperial), Greek Orators

Dr Maarit Kivilo
Corpus Christi College
maarit.kivilo@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Greek biographical tradition; tragedy; epic poetry; Greek chronogrphical traditon

Dr Sofia Kravaritou
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
sofia.kravaritou@classics.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic Religion through archaeological, epigraphical and literary evidence, Thessalian cults, politics and sacred space, social and cultural anthropology of Ancient Greece, multiculturalism, identity politics, acculturation processes

Dr Christina Kuhn
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274379
christina.kuhn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman political, social and cultural history, Roman Asia Minor, Greek and Latin Epigraphy, Papyrology, Roman Egypt

** Prof. Donna C. Kurtz
Oxford e-Research Centre
Tel No: (01865) 610625
donna.kurtz@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Vases, Anatomy and Greek Art, Classical Reception, History of Collection, Information Technology applications

** Mr Robin J. Lane Fox
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279529
robin.lanefox@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman History, Alexander

Prof. Marc Lauxtermann
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610243
marc.lauxtermann@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Byzantine studies

Dr Dawn LaValle
Magdalen College
dawn.lavalle@magd.ox.ac.uk
Imperial Greek literature, philosophical dialogue, gender studies, early Christianity, ancient medicine

Prof. Matthew Leigh
St Anne's College
Tel No: (01865) 274845
matthew.leigh@st-annes.ox.ac.uk
Lucan, Latin Poetry, Livy, New Comedy

Prof. Irene Lemos
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278268
irene.lemos@classics.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek Archaeology & history

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

** Dr Barbara Levick
St Hilda's College
barbara.levick@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Roman Imperial History

Prof. Jane L. Lightfoot
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279547
jane.lightfoot@new.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic and later Greek literature

** Prof. Andrew W. Lintott
Worcester College
andrew.lintott@worc.ox.ac.uk
Roman Political and Administrative History, Roman Law, Roman Epigraphy

Dr Tosca Lynch
Jesus College
tosca.lynch@jesus.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Greek Music; Rhythmics and metre; Plato's musical thought and aesthetics; ancient education; music in Euripidean tragedy