Faculty Members D-G

A-C  D-G  H-L  M-P  Q-S  T-Z 
(** = Emeriti, * = Permanent Professors & Associate Professors)

Dr Armand J. D'Angour
Jesus College
Tel No: (01865) 279731
armand.dangour@jesus.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Literature; Greek social and cultural history; metre, music, and versification

Prof. Malcolm Davies
St John's College
Tel No: (01865) 277382
malcolm.davies@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Greek poetry, especially Homer and Lyric

** Mrs Jane M. Day
Lady Margaret Hall
jane.day@lmh.ox.ac.uk
Ancient philosophy, ethics, philosophy of religion

Dr Wolfgang de Melo
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610224
wolfgang.demelo@classics.ox.ac.uk
Latin synchronic and diachronic linguistics, Plautus, Varro, morphology, syntax, metre, Indo-European philology, textual criticism

Dr Janet DeLaine
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278248
janet.delaine@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Archaeology, Urbanism and Architecture

Dr Christopher Dickenson
The Gibson Building
christopher.dickenson@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Greece, monuments, public space, statues, power, politics, religion

Dr Beate Dignas
Somerville College
Tel No: (01865) 270611
beate.dignas@some.ox.ac.uk

Dr Mark J. Edwards
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276216
mark.edwards@chch.ox.ac.uk
Biography, philosophical theology, the Constantinian Church, Plotinus, Christianity.

** Dr L.P.E. Edwards
St Hugh's College
Greek Poetry, Greek Metrics

Mr John S.C. Eidinow
St Benet's Hall
Tel No: (01865) 286341
john.eidinow@stb.ox.ac.uk
Latin Poetry of the Augustan Period, especially Horace

Dr Aneurin Ellis-Evans
Brasenose College
aneurin.ellis-evans@queens.ox.ac.uk
Greek history, 800 BC - AD 300; historical geography; literature and politics in the post-classical polis, Greek numismatics

Prof. Jas' Elsner
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276721
jas.elsner@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Classical and Late Antique Art, the Reception of Ancient Art, Ekphrasis

Dr Giulia Fanti
St. John's College
giulia.fanti@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Latin literature, Didactic poetry, Lucretius, Manilius, Aetna poem, Cicero, Seneca, Roman philosophy

Dr Stephan Faust
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
stephan.faust@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient visual cultures, Roman imperial monuments, Greek and Roman funerary culture, late antique art

Very Revd Dr R D Finn
Blackfriars
richard.finn@theology.ox.ac.uk

Dr Peta Fowler
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278363
peta.fowler@classics.ox.ac.uk
Latin Poetry, Lucretius, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Lucan, Seneca, Ancient Literary Criticism

Dr Tristan Franklinos
Trinity College
tristan.franklinos@classics.ox.ac.uk
[Vergil]'s Catalepton, Propertius, Ovid, Textual Criticism, Palaeography, the History of the Book

Dr Peter Frankopan
Worcester College
peter.frankopan@worc.ox.ac.uk
Byzantium and its neighbours; the Komnenoi; medieval Greek and Latin literature; heresy; Islam and the West; Central Asia; national identities; state formation in the medieval world

Dr Almut Fries
The Queen's College
almut.fries@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic and Classical Greek Poetry; Language; Metre; Textual Criticism and Transmission; History of Classical Scholarship; Indo-European and Ancient Near Eastern Studies

Dr Francesca Galligan
The Bodleian Library
francesca.galligan@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
Epic Poetry in Middle Ages (Latin, Italian)

Dr Samuel D. Gartland
Corpus Christi College
samuel.gartland@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek history; Boiotia; Thebes; Geography; Pausanias

Dr Constanze Güthenke
Corpus Christi College
constanze.guthenke@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature; reception studies; the postclassical; history of scholarship; ancient biography; Modern Greek literature

Prof. Martin Goodman
Wolfson College
Tel No: (01865) 278208
martin.goodman@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Jewish History in the Graeco-Roman Period; History of the Early Roman Empire

** Prof. Jasper Griffin
Balliol College
jasper.griffin@balliol.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Attic Tragedy, Cicero, Augustan Poetry

** Dr Miriam T. Griffin
Somerville College
miriam.griffin@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman History, Late Republic and Early Empire, Intellectual History