Classics > People > Roman History

Search Results

Showing 20 academics with a subject area of Roman History

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Jean-Sébastien Balzat
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 610229
jean-sebastien.balzat@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman history, Greek epigraphy, Greek onomastics

Dr Edward Bispham
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277524
ed.bispham@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Pre-Roman and Roman Italy (history, epigraphy, archaeology); Roman historiography

Prof. Alan K. Bowman
Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
alan.bowman@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman History and Papyrology

Dr Anna Clark
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276228
anna.clark@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman society and history, esp. 3rd cent BCE -1st/ 2nd CE; Roman intellectual and cultural history; historiography; religion; epistolography; Roman comedy; city of Rome.

Dr Katherine Clarke
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276856
katherine.clarke@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman historiography (especially Herodotus and Tacitus), ancient geographical traditions (especially in the late Hellenistic period), concepts of time, local and universal history.

Dr Beate Dignas
Somerville College
Tel No: (01865) 270611
beate.dignas@some.ox.ac.uk

Dr Georgy Kantor
St John's College
Tel No: (01865) 610876
georgy.kantor@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Roman law and institutions, Hellenistic and Roman epigraphy, Asia Minor, Black Sea region

Dr Christina Kuhn
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274379
christina.kuhn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman political, social and cultural history, Roman Asia Minor, Greek and Latin Epigraphy, Papyrology, Roman Egypt

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

Dr Christopher Mallan
St Benet's Hall
christopher.mallan@stb.ox.ac.uk
Roman Historiography; Cassius Dio; Roman Imperial History; Dexippus; Reception of Roman History in Byzantium.

Dr Lydia Matthews
Oriel College
lydia.matthews@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Roman History, Ancient Sexuality and Gender, Ancient Medicine, Ancient Ethnography

Prof. Teresa Morgan
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276574
teresa.morgan@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Ancient history, cultural history, ethics, early Church, historiography

Dr Mark Pobjoy
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276099
mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman History, Latin Epigraphy, Republican Italy

Dr Jonathan R.W. Prag
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 276281
jonathan.prag@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Sicily, Roman Republic, Epigraphy

Prof. Nicholas Purcell
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277818
nicholas.purcell@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman Social, Economic and Cultural History, City of Rome; Mediterranean Sea and its History

Dr J. C. Quinn
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278365
josephine.quinn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient History, especially Hellenistic, Punic and Republican; Archaeology, especially North African; Gender Studies.

Dr Alison Rosenblitt
Regent's Park
alison.rosenblitt@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman oratory and political history; Latin historiography, classical reception, Anglo-American modernism

Dr Harry Sidebottom
Lincoln College
harry.sidebottom@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Warfare, Historiography and Art

Dr Andrew James Sillett
St Anne's College
Tel No: (01865) 274845
andrew.sillett@classics.ox.ac.uk
Latin Literature, especially Cicero; Roman History, especially Cicero; Ancient Philosophy, especially Cicero.

Dr Peter Thonemann
Wadham College
Tel No: (01865) 277998
peter.thonemann@wadh.ox.ac.uk
History, mostly pre-modern; geography; gender; society and economy.