Classics > People > Roman Archaeology

Search Results

Showing 17 academics with a subject area of Roman Art and/or Archaeology and/or Architecture

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Lucy Audley-Miller
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
lucy.audley-miller@some.ox.ac.uk
Junior Research Fellow Funerary Portraiture, Roman Art and Architecture

Dr Edward Bispham
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277524
ed.bispham@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Pre-Roman and Roman Italy (history, epigraphy, archaeology); Roman historiography

Dr Janet DeLaine
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278248
janet.delaine@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Archaeology, Urbanism and Architecture

Prof. Jas' Elsner
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276721
jas.elsner@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Classical and Late Antique Art, the Reception of Ancient Art, Ekphrasis

Dr Stephan Faust
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
stephan.faust@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient visual cultures, Roman imperial monuments, Greek and Roman funerary culture, late antique art

Dr Helena Hamerow
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278245
helena.hamerow@arch.ox.ac.uk
Northwest Europe in the early Middle Ages; early medieval settlements and pottery

Dr Ine Jacobs
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Late Antique archaeology and architecture, Archaeology of Christianity, Popular culture, Dark Age Asia Minor

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

Dr Judith S. McKenzie
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610236
judith.mckenzie@arch.ox.ac.uk
Greco-Roman and Late Antique East and Egypt; Alexandria; Petra; Religious continuity and change; Architecture, art, sculpture

Dr Charlotte Potts
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288265
charlotte.potts@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic Italy; Etruscan archaeology; Roman art and architecture; museum studies

Dr J. C. Quinn
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278365
josephine.quinn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient History, especially Hellenistic, Punic and Republican; Archaeology, especially North African; Gender Studies.

Dr Nick Ray
New Barnett House
nicholas.ray@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Archaeology, Ancient Economy, Consumption, Consumer Behaviour, Material Culture.

Dr Damian Robinson
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 613791
damian.robinson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Maritime Archaeology, Urbanism, Ports

Prof. Bert Smith
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278066
bert.smith@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Art and visual cultures of the ancient Mediterranean world; historical interpretation of ancient representation and its relationship with social and political culture; archaeology of Greek cities of Eastern Roman Empire

Dr Peter Stewart
Classical Art Research Centre
Tel No: (01865) 278082
peter.stewart@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Sculpture, Greek and Roman Art, Wilton House

Dr Claudia Wagner
Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive
Tel No: (01865) 278103
claudia.wagner@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Engraved Gems (cameos, intaglios), Collections, Dedications

Prof. Andrew Wilson
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278247
andrew.wilson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Ancient water supply usage; ancient technology; the economy of the Roman Empire; Roman architecture; field survey.