Classics > People > Philology

Search Results

Showing 8 academics with a subject area of Philology

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Richard Ashdowne
University College
richard.ashdowne@classics.ox.ac.uk
Historical Linguistics, Comparative Philology, History of Latin and Romance Languages, Forms of Address

Dr Peter Barber
Wolfson College
peter.barber@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Indo-European Philology; History of the Greek Language

Dr Lisa Bendall
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278244
lisa.bendall@arch.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Prehistory; Linear B and other Bronze Age Aegean Scripts; anthropological approaches to Mycenaean religion, festivals and banqueting; archives, ancient and modern; history of decipherment; economic history.

Dr Wolfgang de Melo
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610224
wolfgang.demelo@classics.ox.ac.uk
Latin synchronic and diachronic linguistics, Plautus, Varro, morphology, syntax, metre, Indo-European philology, textual criticism

Dr Giuseppe Pezzini
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 277631
giuseppe.pezzini@magd.ox.ac.uk
Latin Comedy; Latin Language, Metre, and Textual Criticism; Philology and linguistics; History of Classical Scholarship

Prof Philomen Probert
Wolfson College
Tel No: (01865) 270765
philomen.probert@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Greek, Latin, and Anatolian languages and literatures; history of linguistics; Greek and Latin grammarians; Indo-European historical and comparative linguistics; linguistic theory; historical prosody; diachronic syntax.

Dr Evert van Emde Boas
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 86725
evert.vanemdeboas@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature (especially Homer and tragedy), application of modern linguistics to ancient texts, cognitive approaches to classics

Prof. Andreas Willi
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 288318
andreas.willi@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient Greek sociolinguistics and dialectology; language and linguistic culture in the ancient world; comparative grammar and etymology of Greek, Latin and Indo-European