Classics > People > Late Antique & Byzantine

Search Results

Showing 11 academics with a subject area of Late Antique & Byzantine

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Prof. Dame Averil Cameron
Keble College
averil.cameron@keble.ox.ac.uk
Literature and history of the Late Antique and Early Byzantine Periods

Prof. Jas' Elsner
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276721
jas.elsner@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Classical and Late Antique Art, the Reception of Ancient Art, Ekphrasis

Dr Stephan Faust
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
stephan.faust@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient visual cultures, Roman imperial monuments, Greek and Roman funerary culture, late antique art

Dr Peter Frankopan
Worcester College
peter.frankopan@worc.ox.ac.uk
Byzantium and its neighbours; the Komnenoi; medieval Greek and Latin literature; heresy; Islam and the West; Central Asia; national identities; state formation in the medieval world

Dr Ine Jacobs
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Late Antique archaeology and architecture, Archaeology of Christianity, Popular culture, Dark Age Asia Minor

Dr Helen Kaufmann
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274308
helen.kaufmann@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman late antiquity, Latin poetry, reception, pedagogy

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

Dr Judith S. McKenzie
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610236
judith.mckenzie@arch.ox.ac.uk
Greco-Roman and Late Antique East and Egypt; Alexandria; Petra; Religious continuity and change; Architecture, art, sculpture

Dr Laura Miguélez-Cavero
Balliol College
laura.miguelezcavero@classics.ox.ac.uk
Imperial Greek literature and culture

Dr Foteini Spingou
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610236
foteini.spingou@classics.ox.ac.uk
Art and Literature in Late Antiquity and Byzantium; Manuscript Studies; Epigraphy; Reception in Art; Memory Studies; Egypt; Constantinople.

Dr Mary Whitby
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610223
mary.whitby@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Later Greek Literature; Lector