Classics > People > Historiography

Search Results

Showing 15 academics with a subject area of Historiography

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Prof. Rhiannon Ash
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 286302
rhiannon.ash@classics.ox.ac.uk
Tacitus, Roman Historiography, Editor of Classical Quarterly

Dr Carol Atack
St Hugh's College
carol.atack@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Political thought, Plato, Xenophon, Aristotle, historiography, reception

Dr Anna Clark
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276228
anna.clark@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman society and history, esp. 3rd cent BCE -1st/ 2nd CE; Roman intellectual and cultural history; historiography; religion; epistolography; Roman comedy; city of Rome.

Dr Katherine Clarke
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276856
katherine.clarke@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman historiography (especially Herodotus and Tacitus), ancient geographical traditions (especially in the late Hellenistic period), concepts of time, local and universal history.

Dr Peter Frankopan
Worcester College
peter.frankopan@worc.ox.ac.uk
Byzantium and its neighbours; the Komnenoi; medieval Greek and Latin literature; heresy; Islam and the West; Central Asia; national identities; state formation in the medieval world

Prof. Simon Hornblower
All Souls College
simon.hornblower@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Classical Greek historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides) and the relationship between historical texts as literature and as history, Pindar, Lykophron's Alexandra

Dr Lisa Kallet
University College
Tel No: (01865) 276656
lisa.kallet@univ.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Historiography and Archaic and classical Athens

Dr Christopher Mallan
St Benet's Hall
christopher.mallan@stb.ox.ac.uk
Roman Historiography; Cassius Dio; Roman Imperial History; Dexippus; Reception of Roman History in Byzantium.

Prof. Teresa Morgan
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276574
teresa.morgan@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Ancient history, cultural history, ethics, early Church, historiography

Prof. Christopher B. R. Pelling
Christ Church
chris.pelling@chch.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Literature and Historiography

Dr Mark Pobjoy
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276099
mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman History, Latin Epigraphy, Republican Italy

Prof. Tim Rood
St Hugh's College
Tel No: (01865) 284471
timothy.rood@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Greek historiography and its reception.

Dr Alison Rosenblitt
Regent's Park
alison.rosenblitt@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman oratory and political history; Latin historiography, classical reception, Anglo-American modernism

Prof. Richard B. Rutherford
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276234
richard.rutherford@chch.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Fifth-Century Literature, Rhetoric, Historiography

Prof. Rosalind Thomas
Balliol College
Tel No: (01865) 277749
rosalind.thomas@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient literacy, oral tradition and orality, performance culture; Greek law and society; Greek historiography; Greeks and barbarians, Greeks and the Persian Empire, 'local history' and the polis.