Classics > People > Greek Literature

Search Results

Showing 32 academics with a subject area of Greek Literature

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Bill Allan
University College
Tel No: (01865) 276644
william.allan@univ.ox.ac.uk
Archaic and classical Greek literature, especially tragedy and epic

Dr Carol Atack
St Hugh's College
carol.atack@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Political thought, Plato, Xenophon, Aristotle, historiography, reception

Dr Amin Benaissa
Lady Margaret Hall
Tel No: (01865) 274299
amin.benaissa@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek literary and documentary papyrology; Archaic, Hellenistic and Imperial-period Greek poetry; social, cultural and institutional history of Graeco-Roman Egypt

Dr Felix Budelmann
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276069
felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature, lyric, cognitive approaches to literature

Dr Daniela Colomo
The Sackler Library
daniela.colomo@classics.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer, Oxyrhynchus project, papyrology, Greek Literature, Magic in Antiquity, Textual Criticism of the Bible

Dr Bruno Currie
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276510
bruno.currie@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek epic (especially Homer and Hesiod), Greek lyric (especially Pindar), Greek religion

Dr Armand J. D'Angour
Jesus College
Tel No: (01865) 279731
armand.dangour@jesus.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Literature; Greek social and cultural history; metre, music, and versification

Prof. Malcolm Davies
St John's College
Tel No: (01865) 277382
malcolm.davies@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Greek poetry, especially Homer and Lyric

Dr Almut Fries
The Queen's College
almut.fries@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic and Classical Greek Poetry; Language; Metre; Textual Criticism and Transmission; History of Classical Scholarship; Indo-European and Ancient Near Eastern Studies

Dr Constanze Güthenke
Corpus Christi College
constanze.guthenke@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature; reception studies; the postclassical; history of scholarship; ancient biography; Modern Greek literature

Dr Sarah Hitch
Corpus Christi College
sarah.hitch@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek religion, myth, epic poetry

Prof. Simon Hornblower
All Souls College
simon.hornblower@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Classical Greek historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides) and the relationship between historical texts as literature and as history, Pindar, Lykophron's Alexandra

Prof. Gregory O. Hutchinson
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276192
gregory.hutchinson@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Lyric, Greek Tragedy, Hellenistic Poetry, Cicero, Latin Elegy, Silver Latin, Imperial Greek prose, Epistolography, Prose-rhythm, Ancient poetry-books, interaction of Greek and Latin literature.

Dr Emily G. D. Kearns
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276870
emily.kearns@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Greek Tragedy, Religion

Dr Adrian Kelly
Balliol College
Tel No: (01865) 277580
adrian.kelly@balliol.ox.ac.uk
Tradition, traditional referentiality, orality, Homer, Hesiod, Archaic Greek Poetry, Athenian Tragedy

Dr Maarit Kivilo
Corpus Christi College
maarit.kivilo@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Greek biographical tradition; tragedy; epic poetry; Greek chronogrphical traditon

Prof. Jane L. Lightfoot
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279547
jane.lightfoot@new.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic and later Greek literature

Prof. Fiona Macintosh
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288268
fiona.macintosh@classics.ox.ac.uk
Performance of Greek and Roman Drama, Reception of Greek and Roman literature

Dr Chiara Meccariello
The Ioannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies
chiara.meccariello@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Literary and Subliterary Papyri; Greek Tragedy; Ancient Scholarship, especially Literary Criticism and Greek Lexicography; Ancient Education; Greek Biography; Women in Antiquity

Dr Christopher Metcalf
The Queen's College
christopher.metcalf@queens.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek poetry; literatures of ancient Mesopotamia and Anatolia; history of religion

Dr Laura Miguélez-Cavero
Balliol College
laura.miguelezcavero@classics.ox.ac.uk
Imperial Greek literature and culture

Mr James Morwood
Wadham College
james.morwood@classics.ox.ac.uk
Elementary Language Teaching, Drama (esp. Euripides), Virgil, Catullus

Dr Dirk Obbink
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276212
dirk.obbink@chch.ox.ac.uk
Greek Literature, Papyrology

Prof. Christopher B. R. Pelling
Christ Church
chris.pelling@chch.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Latin Literature and Historiography

Dr Tom Phillips
Merton College
Tel No: (01865) 276293
thomas.phillips@merton.ox.ac.uk
Pindar, Greek Lyric poetry, Hellenistic poetry, ancient scholarship.

Prof. Tim Rood
St Hugh's College
Tel No: (01865) 284471
timothy.rood@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Greek historiography and its reception.

Prof. Richard B. Rutherford
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276234
richard.rutherford@chch.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Fifth-Century Literature, Rhetoric, Historiography

Dr Scott Scullion
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278373
scott.scullion@worc.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature and religion

Dr Karolina Sekita
Brasenose College
karolina.sekita@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Greek Religion, Early Greek Epic, Greek Tragedy, Aristophanes, Greek Cultural History (Archaic & Classical)

Dr Evert van Emde Boas
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 86725
evert.vanemdeboas@magd.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature (especially Homer and tragedy), application of modern linguistics to ancient texts, cognitive approaches to classics

Dr Guy Westwood
Merton College
guy.westwood@merton.ox.ac.uk
Greek and Roman oratory and rhetoric, Greek politics and historiography, Athenian drama

Dr Mary Whitby
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610223
mary.whitby@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Later Greek Literature; Lector