Classics > People > Greek History

Search Results

Showing 22 academics with a subject area of Greek History

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Carol Atack
St Hugh's College
carol.atack@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Political thought, Plato, Xenophon, Aristotle, historiography, reception

Dr Jean-Sébastien Balzat
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 610229
jean-sebastien.balzat@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman history, Greek epigraphy, Greek onomastics

Mr Richard Catling
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 288395
richard.catling@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek History and Archaeology

Dr Charles V. Crowther
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 288180
charles.crowther@classics.ox.ac.uk
Epigraphy

Dr Beate Dignas
Somerville College
Tel No: (01865) 270611
beate.dignas@some.ox.ac.uk

Dr Samuel D. Gartland
Corpus Christi College
samuel.gartland@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek history; Boiotia; Thebes; Geography; Pausanias

Dr Peter Haarer
Regent's Park College
peter.haarer@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic Greek history and archaeology; Epigraphy; The emergence of alphabetic Greek writing; The development of iron during the Archaic and Classical periods

Prof. Simon Hornblower
All Souls College
simon.hornblower@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
Classical Greek historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides) and the relationship between historical texts as literature and as history, Pindar, Lykophron's Alexandra

Dr Lisa Kallet
University College
Tel No: (01865) 276656
lisa.kallet@univ.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Historiography and Archaic and classical Athens

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

Prof. John Ma
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276759
john.ma@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, especially Hellenistic; Asia Minor; Epigraphy; the classical and post-classical polis

Dr Lydia Matthews
Oriel College
lydia.matthews@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Roman History, Ancient Sexuality and Gender, Ancient Medicine, Ancient Ethnography

Prof. Andrew Meadows
New College
andrew.meadows@new.ox.ac.uk
Greek History; Epigraphy; Numismatics

Dr Alfonso Moreno
Magdalen College
Tel No: (01865) 276014
alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek Economic and Social History

Prof. Teresa Morgan
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276574
teresa.morgan@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Ancient history, cultural history, ethics, early Church, historiography

Prof. Robert C. T. Parker
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279520
robert.parker@new.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Greek Religion, Greek Epigraphy

Dr Karolina Sekita
Brasenose College
karolina.sekita@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Greek Religion, Early Greek Epic, Greek Tragedy, Aristophanes, Greek Cultural History (Archaic & Classical)

Dr Harry Sidebottom
Lincoln College
harry.sidebottom@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Warfare, Historiography and Art

Dr Maria Stamatopoulou
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 287354
maria.stamatopoulou@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Thessaly and Macedonia from the 6th to 1st centuries BC; funerary archaeology and iconography, greek art, esp.: greek painting, red-figure vases, terracottas.

Prof. Rosalind Thomas
Balliol College
Tel No: (01865) 277749
rosalind.thomas@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient literacy, oral tradition and orality, performance culture; Greek law and society; Greek historiography; Greeks and barbarians, Greeks and the Persian Empire, 'local history' and the polis.

Dr Peter Thonemann
Wadham College
Tel No: (01865) 277998
peter.thonemann@wadh.ox.ac.uk
History, mostly pre-modern; geography; gender; society and economy.

Dr Anja Ulbrich
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278023
anja.ulbrich@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Cypriot and Greek art, archaeology, and history, religion, sculpture, iconography, ancient topography