Classics > People > Greek Archaeology

Search Results

Showing 18 academics with a subject area of Greek Archaeology and/or Art

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Lisa Bendall
Institute of Archaeology
Tel No: (01865) 278244
lisa.bendall@arch.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Prehistory; Linear B and other Bronze Age Aegean Scripts; anthropological approaches to Mycenaean religion, festivals and banqueting; archives, ancient and modern; history of decipherment; economic history.

Mr Richard Catling
Lexicon of Greek Personal Names
Tel No: (01865) 288395
richard.catling@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek History and Archaeology

Dr Samuel D. Gartland
Corpus Christi College
samuel.gartland@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek history; Boiotia; Thebes; Geography; Pausanias

Dr Peter Haarer
Regent's Park College
peter.haarer@classics.ox.ac.uk
Archaic Greek history and archaeology; Epigraphy; The emergence of alphabetic Greek writing; The development of iron during the Archaic and Classical periods

Dr Jill Hilditch
Keble College
jillian.hilditch@classics.ox.ac.uk
Aegean Prehistory; Cycladic island archaeology; ceramic analysis; archaeological survey; material culture studies; ancient technologies and craft transmission.

Dr Sofia Kravaritou
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
sofia.kravaritou@classics.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic Religion through archaeological, epigraphical and literary evidence, Thessalian cults, politics and sacred space, social and cultural anthropology of Ancient Greece, multiculturalism, identity politics, acculturation processes

Prof. Irene Lemos
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278268
irene.lemos@classics.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek Archaeology & history

Dr Julia Lenaghan
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278313
julia.lenaghan@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology, Sculpture, Late Antiquity

Dr Thomas Mannack
Classical Art Research Centre
Tel No: (01865) 278086
thomas.mannack@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Greek vase-painting, Iconography

Dr Judith S. McKenzie
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 610236
judith.mckenzie@arch.ox.ac.uk
Greco-Roman and Late Antique East and Egypt; Alexandria; Petra; Religious continuity and change; Architecture, art, sculpture

Dr Milena Melfi
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 278079
milena.melfi@classics.ox.ac.uk
Classical Archaeology; Hellenistic and Roman Greece; Sanctuaries; Archaeology and History of Ancient Epirus; cult and cult-places of Asklepios.

Dr Alexia Petsalis-Diomidis
Corpus Christi College
alexia.petsalis-diomidis@ccc.ox.ac.uk
materiality and religion of the Graeco-Roman world, the body, travel and landscape, pilgrimage, the reception of Classical art, especially Greek Vases

Dr Kyriakos Savvopoulos
Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
kyriakos.savvopoulos@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ptolemaic and Roman Alexandria; Ptolemaic history and archaeology; epigraphy, architecture and topography; cultural interaction; ideology and identity; religion and funerary customs.

Prof. Bert Smith
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278066
bert.smith@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Art and visual cultures of the ancient Mediterranean world; historical interpretation of ancient representation and its relationship with social and political culture; archaeology of Greek cities of Eastern Roman Empire

Dr Maria Stamatopoulou
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 287354
maria.stamatopoulou@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Thessaly and Macedonia from the 6th to 1st centuries BC; funerary archaeology and iconography, greek art, esp.: greek painting, red-figure vases, terracottas.

Dr Peter Stewart
Classical Art Research Centre
Tel No: (01865) 278082
peter.stewart@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman Sculpture, Greek and Roman Art, Wilton House

Dr Anja Ulbrich
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278023
anja.ulbrich@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Cypriot and Greek art, archaeology, and history, religion, sculpture, iconography, ancient topography

Dr Claudia Wagner
Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive
Tel No: (01865) 278103
claudia.wagner@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Engraved Gems (cameos, intaglios), Collections, Dedications