Classics > People > Ancient-Religion

Search Results

Showing 16 academics with a subject area of Ancient Religion

(*= Permanent Professors and Associate Professors)

Dr Anna Clark
Christ Church
Tel No: (01865) 276228
anna.clark@classics.ox.ac.uk
Roman society and history, esp. 3rd cent BCE -1st/ 2nd CE; Roman intellectual and cultural history; historiography; religion; epistolography; Roman comedy; city of Rome.

Dr Bruno Currie
Oriel College
Tel No: (01865) 276510
bruno.currie@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Early Greek epic (especially Homer and Hesiod), Greek lyric (especially Pindar), Greek religion

Dr Beate Dignas
Somerville College
Tel No: (01865) 270611
beate.dignas@some.ox.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Hitch
Corpus Christi College
sarah.hitch@classics.ox.ac.uk
Greek religion, myth, epic poetry

Dr Emily G. D. Kearns
St Hilda's College
Tel No: (01865) 276870
emily.kearns@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk
Homer, Greek Tragedy, Religion

Dr Sofia Kravaritou
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
sofia.kravaritou@classics.ox.ac.uk
Hellenistic Religion through archaeological, epigraphical and literary evidence, Thessalian cults, politics and sacred space, social and cultural anthropology of Ancient Greece, multiculturalism, identity politics, acculturation processes

Dr Neil McLynn
Corpus Christi College
Tel No: (01865) 276778
neil.mclynn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient History (Late Antiquity)

Prof. Robert C. T. Parker
New College
Tel No: (01865) 279520
robert.parker@new.ox.ac.uk
Greek History, Greek Religion, Greek Epigraphy

Dr Alexia Petsalis-Diomidis
Corpus Christi College
alexia.petsalis-diomidis@ccc.ox.ac.uk
materiality and religion of the Graeco-Roman world, the body, travel and landscape, pilgrimage, the reception of Classical art, especially Greek Vases

Prof. Nicholas Purcell
Brasenose College
Tel No: (01865) 277818
nicholas.purcell@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Roman Social, Economic and Cultural History, City of Rome; Mediterranean Sea and its History

Dr J. C. Quinn
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278365
josephine.quinn@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ancient History, especially Hellenistic, Punic and Republican; Archaeology, especially North African; Gender Studies.

Dr Kyriakos Savvopoulos
Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents
Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
kyriakos.savvopoulos@classics.ox.ac.uk
Ptolemaic and Roman Alexandria; Ptolemaic history and archaeology; epigraphy, architecture and topography; cultural interaction; ideology and identity; religion and funerary customs.

Dr Scott Scullion
Worcester College
Tel No: (01865) 278373
scott.scullion@worc.ox.ac.uk
Greek literature and religion

Dr Karolina Sekita
Brasenose College
karolina.sekita@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Greek Religion, Early Greek Epic, Greek Tragedy, Aristophanes, Greek Cultural History (Archaic & Classical)

Dr Maria Stamatopoulou
The Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies
Tel No: (01865) 287354
maria.stamatopoulou@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Thessaly and Macedonia from the 6th to 1st centuries BC; funerary archaeology and iconography, greek art, esp.: greek painting, red-figure vases, terracottas.

Dr Anja Ulbrich
The Ashmolean Museum
Tel No: (01865) 278023
anja.ulbrich@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
Cypriot and Greek art, archaeology, and history, religion, sculpture, iconography, ancient topography